Author Topic: RTF.net Improvements - Website Overhaul  (Read 3824 times)

Offline EBE@RTF

• Team Leader - Australia
  • Administrator
  • Challenge Mode
  • Rating: +14/-2
  • Gigantic Ska Robot
    • Team RTF Australia
RTF.net Improvements - Website Overhaul
« on: October 25, 2006, 01:25:57 AM »
I'm in the process of testing out some of the more advanced features of SMF, and this should enable us to make the site a lot more interactive with the forum, and hopefully look a little nicer.

The first step will be to replace the current Blogger.com 'News and Updates' page, which you can see here.

I'm really new to php, so if anyone has some skills in this department, please feel free to offer some advice.

A really bad version of how this will end up looking can be seen here. This link is so I have an easy way to get to that page for testing, and this post is so I can see the results :D

Although many of you will have just seen this board pop up on your index, this has been here for a while, and will be used as the 'news post' forum. General members will not be able to post new topics here, but will be able to comment on posts. I may hide this again shortly, but feel free to comment away.

EDIT: I've now hacked the Blogger-generated news page to load data from this board instead. It's far from the finished product, but the forum is now integrated into the main site for news updates.
« Last Edit: October 25, 2006, 03:37:02 PM by EBE@RTF »
Team Ranking Task-Force
Part of Australia's DDR community since 1999

Offline moose!

• Get a clue, moron
  • RTF Team Member
  • Challenge Mode
  • Rating: +15/-1
Re: RTF.net Improvements - Website Overhaul
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2006, 08:11:18 AM »
i know enough php to get by, depending on what you need. i could have a look at stuff if you want. i made my own blog which i so barely update...but im in the process of making a new site...with a new domain name and everything XD